Secretly are we all still 12 year olds?

I think I still have a little bit of my 12 year old self in there. 

My daughter has a presentation at school today and she was frightened last night. Seriously, frightened to speak in front of her class. This puzzles me, she’s the kid that won’t ever be quiet. So her of all people having a fear of public speaking amazes me. She must get it from me. I’m not sure how many presentations I have done but I do know that each time I start to do one I get just a little sweaty and my legs still shake just ever so much.

WHY DOES THIS HAPPEN? My inquisitive side got the best of me and I did a little google search. According to the National Institute of Mental Health 74% of people suffer from fear of public speaking. WOW – thats a lot of people!

I sat with Maddie, my daughter, last night and we practiced her speech tirelessly. It helped a bit but she was still nervous. At the end of the night I told her the same thing that I tell myself every time that I have to stand up in front of a group and speak.

“This is only one small moment in your life. All you can do is your best. If you stutter, if you are speechless for a moment that is not what defines you. It is not what proves your knowledge. The moments that define you are your character and your actions. You will be great, just believe that and greatness will come to you” 

The next thing that happened is what every mom loves. She gave me a big hug and said “Mom you’re awesome”.

Now that I have achieved awesomeness my work here is done…well until she fails to do her chores then I will be a mean mom again.

What do you do to calm your fears of public speaking. Do you have any tips or suggestions?

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Secretly are we all still 12 year olds?

  1. Nancy Liebig says:

    Having experienced the sweats, turning red, stuttering and awkward pauses when I couldn’t find the words, I can certainly relate to Maddie’s nervousness. Heck, 74% of us can! I have found that my confidence in public speaking is directly related to my confidence with the content I’m presenting. Basically – know your stuff and you’ll be less nervous. My nerves have way less impact when I actually know what I’m talking about – go figure! Also……never underestimate the power an awesome outfit and great hair day can bring to the equation:-)

Leave a Reply

