Beautiful Things Happen Even in the Unknown

Beautiful things happen when you distance yourself from the negative crap. ~ Unknown 

Easier said than done oh wise one, is what I have to say to that quote. Life is full of bumps, turns, and the unexpected and its easy to get pulled down into a negative spiral. The proverbial crap is what I try not to let myself get sucked into but somedays its just hard. The negative elephant in the room is the unknown for me. The questions that are constantly unanswered are what can eat you alive. A very dear friend once told me “As humans we have a natural tendency to try and control everything but the fact is we can’t control everything.” I have thought a lot about that statement and it rings very true to me.

I have come to realize that all we can control is our reaction to the situation that may leave us in the dark. When I feel myself in the spiral I read some amazing quotes from some awesome folks. Today I feel inspired by Helen Keller.

Everything has its wonders, even in darkness and silence, and I learn, whatever state I am in, therein to be content. ~ Helen Keller 

What do you do make sure you don’t get pulled into the negative crap?

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beautiful Things Happen Even in the Unknown

  1. crpeterson says:

    Great post! You are exactly right, the only thing we can control is our reaction and perspective to life. Have you ever read any Byron Katie quotes? When I’m stressing they give me a nice slap across the face and pull me back to reality.

    A few of my favorites:

    “As long as you think that the cause of your problem is “out there”—as long as you think that anyone or anything is responsible for your suffering—the situation is hopeless. It means that you are forever in the role of victim, that you’re suffering in paradise.”

    “Life is simple. Everything happens for you, not to you. Everything happens at exactly the right moment, neither too soon nor too late. You don’t have to like it… it’s just easier if you do.”

    “Placing the blame or judgment on someone else leaves you powerless to change your experience; taking responsibility for your beliefs and judgments gives you the power to change them”

    Amazing, right? This woman has changed my life!

Leave a Reply

