Opportunities are Abundant, Just Look!

If you really want something, and really work hard, and take advantage of opportunities, and never give up, you will find a way. ~ Jane Goodall

Jane Goodall has some of the most amazing quotes and I find her extremely motivating. This particular statement resonates with me.

Mowitch Lake Getting what you want is not always easy and it may not seem attainable but when you look for opportunties within your path thats when you succeed in your goals. I’ve never been the type of person that knew what I wanted to do with my career, some may see this as a poor quality but I think of it as “open to new experiences”. I have the basics down and always knew I wanted a few core things in life:

  1. A happy & healthy family
  2. A job that could support my happy & healthy family
  3. To make a positive impact in the world (I won’t cure a disease but as long as I make a positive impact that’s what counts)
  4. To always experience new things (preferably in the outdoors)
  5. A job that made me smile when I went to work

So, how do these things get accomplished without having a defined goal or path? For me, it’s just as Jane Goodall states that

  • WORK hard
  • LOOK for opportunities
  • NEVER give up

Opportunities aren’t always easy to spot, similar to the small island in Mowitch lake (photo above), but if you look hard and you are patient you will see them.

I’m not sure what the secret sauce of life is but I do know that you can’t wait for things to just come to you. Many times life sends us on a different path but for me as long as I remember my core values and goals everything will work out just fine.

As I move forward into 2013 I will continue to focus on my 5 core goals and I will continue to look for wonderful opportunities. This will assure me that I will have another great year with my family, my beagle and of course several backpacking trips.

What are you going to do in 2013 to ensure it will be great for you?

This entry was posted in Hiking, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

