Collaboration Equals Awesomeness

It is the long history of humankind (and animal kind, too) those who learned to collaborate and improvise most effectively have prevailed. —Charles Darwin

I like to think of myself as a fairly intelligent person with some pretty exciting and innovative ideas. Yet, I am humble enough to know that my ideas get exponentially better when I collaborate with my fellow warriors of enthusiasm. (If you don’t know what a Warrior of Enthusiasm is I highly encourage you to read this blog)

Collaborate, Think out of the Box Most often collaboration and great ideas don’t happen in a boardroom or an official conference call. For me, they happen in the hallway, the kitchen while getting coffee or during random conversation. A good idea turns into an awesome idea in this type of environment.

Why does a casual atmosphere inspire a more collaborative environment than other settings? I’ve pondered for quite some time. I’ve finally come up with my top 5 reasons:

  1. Boardrooms are stuffy

  2. Big groups can be intimidating

  3. A formal meeting does not foster thoughts & discussion it encourages presentations & statements 

  4. People tend to try to prove how smart they are in the boardroom. (I think it has something to do with the big table) 

  5. Casual conversations do not require an agenda or have a time constraint. It is simply a conversation 

Although my thoughts are not backed by a scientific study I do think that these five reasons have some validity. As I move forward in 2013 I have 2 resolutions that I will focus on

  1. Collaborate more because collaboration equals awesomeness

  2. Attend fewer formal meetings

How do you collaborate best? Do you think that great ideas are created in small groups or formal teams? I’m interested in hearing your thoughts.

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Collaboration Equals Awesomeness

  1. Pingback: The Awesome Power of Collaboration….. | Deo Volente

Leave a Reply

