Support Others. Fight Cancer. – An Inspirational Post from a Friend

Random Acts of Human Kindness

That’s what todays post is all about. Last night I was reading through my Facebook feed and came along such an amazing inspirational post from Eddie Merrifield. Eddie has shared some moments of tragedy and loss over the last few years, I’ve watched his posts and have felt empathy for him, losing a loved one is never easy. Yet, with each and every post shared  about a loss he always found a way to turn that sadness into something positive whether it was an happy memory of a loved one or a lesson learned. Turning negative experience into something positive is a real knack that Eddie has and I admire him for that. Yesterday’s post was no different and I feel compelled to share this with you in hope that you will take part in Eddie’s effort to make a difference in someone else’s life.   random acts of kindness

 Take a moment, read his post, share it with your friends, contribute if you can, be inspired and support random acts of kindness everywhere!

Post from Eddie Merrifield on YouCaring.

It was December 28th 2010, when my Dad called me. I knew something was wrong when he told me to pull over so we could talk. He then told me that the doctors had found a spot on his lung. I rushed home, and looked up everything I could read on lung cancer. By mid-February, we knew that the cancer had metastasized and he was at Stage 4.

Though I’m an emotional person, I am also very analytical. Whether I wanted to give up hope or not, I knew the odds were very slim that my Dad, my hero, would be around much longer.

Over 2011, I had trouble sleeping and hit the energy drinks a lot to keep my energy level high enough to work. Grandma passed away in June. My niece, Cassie-Jo, passed away in August….and mercifully, the cancer finally took Dad in December.  Basically, 2011 SUCKED!

During those 11 months, my blood pressure soared. I knew it was stress and the things swirling around me. I figured it would go away. It hasn’t.

So, to my way of thinking, this High Blood Pressure is the last symptom of my Dad’s cancer that we’re fighting. I really don’t want to do meds, but I will if it doesn’t get down.

So, I started training for the Rock & Roll Half Marathon. In two weeks, that training will come to a conclusion, and it will be decision time for me….am I healthy, or do I go on the meds?

I’ve decided to make my training and running the Rock & Roll Half Marathon into a fundraiser to fight cancer in some form.  Alone, my ability to make a difference is minimal. But, with the help of my friends, maybe I can make a difference to the families below.

In the words of Jimmy Valvano: “Cancer can take away all my physical abilities. It cannot touch my mind, it cannot touch my heart and it cannot touch my soul. And those three things are going to carry on forever.”

Lincoln Jones is a 5-year-old little guy with a big smile who has been fighting Leukemia since 2011.  He is closing in on the last 7 months of his treatments.

Aaron Deeney is a 17-year-old high school student who has been battling cancer for the last year.  He’s an aspiring musician who has just started playing again as he goes through his treatments.

To help Eddie help others fight cancer Click Here!

Thanks for reading, sharing and supporting!

 

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Motivation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

