Grasshopper Trail & Chucksney Mountain

Saturdays hiking adventure was just NutMeg, BoBo and myself. We started the day at Box Canyon campground with the intent to hike the Chucksney Mountain loop, 10.6 miles. The trail was quiet, no one I mean no one was out there. No recent tracks or anything, just me the dogs and the wild animals. After about 1.5 miles the trail became very thick in thimbleberries and it reminded me of the trip that Skip and I took a few years ago at Rebel Creek(click here to see pic from that hike, it was gorgeous)  that totally kicked my butt and we saw tons of signs of bear tracks. So, I’ll admit it my fears got the best of me and I thought I might get mauled by a bear. Yes, we turned around and headed back to the truck. The downhill trek was uneventful but the dogs and I took some fun pictures.

Hiking Flowers 2014-06-28 11.23.01-1 2014-06-28 11.22.52-1

the moment I turned around and went down the mountain

the moment I turned around and went down the mountain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The next day I convinced Skip and Colton to come with me as my security crew. We started at the opposite end of Grasshopper Trail on Hiyu Ridge for a 8 mile hike. Not a lot of great views but it was fun. I’m glad they were with me, the trail was covered in lots of fresh bear poo. I knew I wasn’t being totally irrational the day before!

Grasshopper Trail via Hiyu Ridge 2014-06-29 13.06.56-1 2014-06-29 13.41.17

View of the Three Sisters from the top of the ridge

View of the Three Sisters from the top of the ridge

Of course a selfie of me :)

Of course a selfie of me 🙂

 

 

Image | This entry was posted in Hiking, Inspiration, Motivation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

